50-50: Everybody Loses

Saw another poll or something this week that pointed out how America is divided almost evenly on just about every key issue (although the tea baggers are doing their best to drive more people away from the GOP).  How did this happen?  How is it that I could be living in the same country as someone who hates gays, hates black people, hates anybody who isn’t exactly like them?  Haven’t we all been subjected to ROUGHLY the same set of facts, information, and whatever else you get in school and just walking around on the streets of Anytown, USA?  (Right, I know, I’m dreaming.) Have they never heard of “the melting pot” theory of why America is different from the inbred, scared and hateful postures other countries have traditionally taken?  The fact that there are differences is a strength.  It’s even embodied, for Christ’s sake, in our president.  He’s both black and white!  What could epitomize this country more perfectly?  And somebody should warn all those people all over the world who, despite the damage done by eight years of Dick Cheney playing puppet master, still want to come HERE, not someplace else.  They might be in for a disappointment when they realize how many hunkered-down, scared little ostriches we’ve got here.  But on the other hand, there’s the other fifty percent — I like to think of it as the “Me Fifty” — which, although it’s basically more timid, more hesitant to step forward and raise hell, is still half the country.  And why is the 50-50 split seemingly worse today than it has been in the past? Well, it’s just my opinion, but I think the Dark Forces (and I don’t mean the folks who are comfortable with black people) are far more charged up and filled with zealous tunnel vision than they were in the past. They seem to think they’re God’s legion, and those of us who are still dumb enough to be Democrats (as in “the Democrat party”, rather than the Democratic party, which is what it’s actually called) or doubters are clearly Satanic or just dupes in the horned one’s evil machinations.  Give me a break.  As much as anything, I think it boils down to religious zealotry.  Let me be clear — I have no problem with religion.  I don’t partake, but I have no problem.  Except that it tends to put blinders on the bearer.  It tends to foster the idea that YOU, not they, will go to Hell if you don’t think like they do — about ANYTHING, not just God.  They blur the lines between God and individual freedoms and rights, so that they only like the individual right they seem to think they have to tell the rest of us how unamerican we are.  And they really believe it, for the most part. If you’re not following the dictums of the God-Right, you’re unpatriotic.  Well, bushwah.  I say it’s time for a little back-stiffening among the liberal half of our nation (or more liberal than the other half, at least), and that we should be just as aggressive as the God Right about the Great Arguments of our time.  Enough of feeling like the ceiling’s about to fall in and we’ll lose everything we’ve gained.  That would come under the heading of “self fulfilling attitude” in my book.  And look at it this way.  We only have to sway half the country in order to have everybody on the same page!  That’s not nearly as daunting as, say, seventy-five percent, right?  So this is a winnable argument!  It’s just a matter of expending thew energy.  Putting forth the effort and persuading the Dim.  But not right now… I’ve got to go get some lunch, and then there are the phone calls I need to return, the car that needs washing, trash needing to be taken out… jeez, what made me think I had time for this blog?  I guess we’ll have to let the Dim remain dim, and hope they can’t find their guns in the dark.

About tomszollosi

I've been a professional screenwriter, television writer, and novelist for over 30 years. I'm at present working on a pilot, I've just put my first ebook (a novel called "The Space He Filled") up on Smashwords, and I've got another, "The Proving" (previously published by Doubleday in 1988), coming up online soon. I'm happily married with two sons, a beloved nephew, and a chocolate labrador retriever named Kahlo. View all posts by tomszollosi

Leave a Reply

